Université de Technologie Belfort-Montbéliard - COMUE Université Bourgogne Franche-Comté

Université de Technologie Belfort-Montbéliard

Created in 1999, the UTBM (Belfort-Montbéliard University of Technology) is a public institution with scientific, cultural and professional purposes.

UTBM is a member of the network of universities of technology, created from the union of two institutions : the National School of Engineers of Belfort (1962) and the Polytechnic Institute of Sevenans (antenna of the UTC located in Sevenans in 1985).

UTBM trains engineers who are rapidly operational, particularly adaptable to changes in technology and in society. Its training is based on research activities and valorization.


  • Engineer training    
  • Masters   
  • PHD
  • ontinuing education


Research practised at UTBM is structured in three poles:

  • Belfort site: Energy and IT / networks,       
  • Sevenans site: Future Industry       
  • Montbéliard site: Tomorrow’s transports and mobility


UTBM is engaged in developing international relationships, based on the progressive integration of international internships in the engineer curriculum. The international scientific collaborations of UTBM researchers reinforce the links with partner universities around the world. Student mobility, teaching and innovation are therefore the basis for fruitfull relationships.